NAPOWRIMO: Day 10

it is the stroke of midnight but this is day ten’s poem… I have spent the day sewing and knitting and making hummous so I wrote a sort of making poem, I have written very little about sewing and such which is a shame. This is barely making a dent but here goes:

I never wear nail polish

It doesn’t set off my writer’s callous

These hands are not empty ornaments

I was not a teenage hand model

The thumb and first two fingers on the left

Nearly sliced off at intervals

By knife and saw

My knuckles are always red raw

Cold and large and bony

Good for making pastry

its like making sense of chaos

Binding it all

Every time I thread the bobbin

On my Bernina I feel more useful

Sewing scraps of stripes into use

I am trying to knit clickety click,

Ignoring the holes

The scarf like an old fishing net

Ravaged.

About

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.

Posted in NAPOWRIMO Anna, Poetry Scrawls, Ramblings

Leave a Reply

The Stirred team at Reclaim the Night Manchester 2015
Recently blogged:
