Day 12: Mirrors

 

Have used the website we’re signed up to to do this exercise:

http://www.napowrimo.net/2011/04/day-10/

And here is Denise Riley’s poem that I have mirrored, and then my mirror image poem.

Denise: True North

My body’s frame arched to a drum house a needle. A splinter of this world

has stuck in me, snapped-off, afloat down syrupy blood. It points me on.

This thick body can’t dim its brillance though it vexes the ear of my flesh.

Sliver of outside that I cradle inside and which gurantees me my life also.

My mirror:

This instrument broke apart to a percussion housing a beat, the tempo of this time

was revealed to me, all jagged mirrors swallowing fluctuating sight. They direct me sideways. Boom.

My bloated flesh can’t light the excess although it tries, the wheels I’ve been spinning

Kept still outside where I decide dirt can’t gurantee safety, let’s dream life clean.

About

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.

Posted in NAPOWRIMO Becca, Poetry Scrawls
One comment on “Day 12: Mirrors
  1. Really good to see this. It mirrors the Riley poem in an interesting way, and it’s good to see how you’ve turned ‘my body’ into the more impersonal ‘This instrument’. I like it.

Leave a Reply

The Stirred team at Reclaim the Night Manchester 2015
Recently blogged:
