NAPOWRIMO: Day 18

I haven’t really written a lot of poems about dreams, but today I woke from such a vivid one. A recurring one, I don’t dream of being naked in the exam hall or just in my apron for a food tech exam which I seem to recall Bridget Jones does in her diary. I in fact, laughed at other people for such a cliched fear. But about a week after I got the letter saying I had managed to pass my degree and get a 2:1 they started, and never stopped, not even after I got my masters. I’m never naked just at school and haven’t done my exams, never leaving. Make of that what you will.

Everyone’s wearing silver shoes, winking

In this watery wavering sunshine

And muttering about shirt sleeves and forgiveness

I’m in heels I never tottered in at seventeen

Clip clopping labyrinthine corridors

Past high lichen painted shut windows

‘’I can’t skive history again I’ll fail

There’s time for revision isn’t there?’’

I haven’t had an exam since 2004

I didn’t even do history at Alevel

In between two degrees earned

And still I wake wrestling with the duvet

About

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.

Posted in NAPOWRIMO Anna, Poetry Scrawls, Ramblings

Leave a Reply

The Stirred team at Reclaim the Night Manchester 2015
Recently blogged:
