Wake up and Write

I usually edit somewhat but this poem, aside from me fiddling with the order and then adding in a line is pretty much how it came out when I woke up and started writing, I thought would leave it as is for now:

 

I have missed the snow

awoken in the dark to

the tinfoil noise of rain on

my dark blue window

I am wondering how many

snows are left for me

and think one day I will

have to explain snow

to small children who

think of it as a white mass

a malevolent presence that

stopped traffic and planes once

and not feathery flakes that build

the relief these pills give me

from my ratcheting brain

and electrified nerves

gives way to a drugged sleep

from which I cannot wake,

I try, and steadily sink

and dream of my friend,

we are on a beach familiar to her

in my slumber I have taken away

her faculties and take her for ice cream

About

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

The Stirred team at Reclaim the Night Manchester 2015
Recently blogged:
