NaPoWriMo Day 1

It is the first day of NaPoWriMo, welcome world. We are enlisted on the napowrimo site and ready to go:

 www.napowrimo.net

 

I have just finished reading Margaret Atwood’s novel Cat’s Eye for about the third time. I still find it an unnerving experience. I wanted to write a poem about my equivalent to a marble which holds ‘my life entire’, but as I don’t have such an item….kinda like an emotional horcrux, if you’re into your Harry Potter….I just choose something a bit random.

Smoky Business

 

I burn letters, but it is a smoky business.

The match flares and goes out, the paper catches

and subsides, words cling to their handwritten

life stubbornly. I persist, till the curling

black corners shrink into the page’s body

and its entirety becomes ash. I am thirteen;

believe if you burn something it is less likely

to come back, it destroys it more completely.

I expected it to satisfy the urge to get rid,

to purge the soul. The paper had preserved

that which was treasured and now is obsolete

and it seemed it would mean more than the click of delete.

 

But the smoke strings my eyes, the air is cold.

It is furtive and lonely, and I don’t own a lighter.

 

About

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.

Posted in BeccaAudra, NAPOWRIMO Becca, Poetry Scrawls
One comment on “NaPoWriMo Day 1
  1. […] by the natural element of fire and man’s instinctive fear to investigate and capture nature. Second poem of this NaPoWriMo to do with […]

Leave a Reply

The Stirred team at Reclaim the Night Manchester 2015
Recently blogged:
