Slightly cheating as it is sunday after all…

So here is a new poem this week first draft, poorly punctuated, as it came out I hope you like it any comments or advice gratefully received, I had in mind, rather more mood than anything else the marvellous master of intimacy Thom Gunn’s The Hug : http://www.poemhunter.com/poem/the-hug/

we have  found ourselves here in your city

the one you used to think I had handed you

at the top of a converted bank

somehow a simulacrum of the room

where our bodies first met

in a shaft of day light I rolled over ash tongued

and queried your second name

and you looked close at my face and asked

what shade I had said my eyes were

as if blue could be ever be exotic

under the eaves here, under faux satin sheets

I did not think were your style

we lie, not touching,

I am pained how much persuading it took for this,

and seeing the lined spined book atop my bag

you let me leave the light on while I read a few chapters

there is a soft snore and my heart vibrates my sternum

while I count the years and inches of sheet

separating our nakedness.

About

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.

Posted in Anna Percy, NAPOWRIMO Anna, Poetry Scrawls, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

The Stirred team at Reclaim the Night Manchester 2015
Recently blogged:
