Day 4: Brrr

NaPoWriMo fourth attempt. I took inspiration today from Poetry Review, where Fady Joudah has written some Textu poems. The form rule is it must be 160 characters long, he suggests that this form creates a poem that is ‘defined by character count, not syllable.’ I notice another blogger The Quirk on the Hill blogspot has also tried out the form for NaPoWriMo.

I like the idea of a text poem, it reminds me of ‘Poems are the original text messages’ Carol Ann Duffy quote, and I found it fun to write some short poems based on character count. However I did get confused on whether I was doing it right, is it character count including spaces or not including spaces? In the end I just went with not including spaces, so this is probably my own take on it, but I may try again limiting myself to even less space next time.  

TextU forms

I

I recognise the weather

It beats the trees, beheads

One of the only flowers

That has managed to blossom;

It is familiar. The sun of those

Golden weeks was unexpected,

I gladly relax in this rain.

II

Last night dreamt of chasing butterflies

They were yellow with a dash of blue

Along the wings. Google dream symbols (butterflies):

Denotes your need to settle down.

I didn’t know I was afloat.

III

You are sad you forgot your waterproof.

This wind is cold enough to take the lips

from my face. Stop exaggerating you say,

only you don’t, but re-enact my

chattering teeth pantomime. Brrrr.

Links:

http://menmedia.co.uk/manchestereveningnews/news/s/1457967_poems-are-the-original-text-messages-carol-ann-duffy-on-how-to-get-children-reading-more-poetry

www.txt2nite.com

http://www.poetryfoundation.org/bio/fady-joudah

About

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in BeccaAudra, NAPOWRIMO Becca, Poetry Scrawls
2 comments on “Day 4: Brrr
  1. glitterpoet says:

    I really enjoyed these. It would be interesting to see what you would remove from them if you hadn’t allowed for the spaces.

  2. Trio says:

    Cheers! Maybe that could be the next stage of it. I’m enjoying the inner world of Colonoscopy, I know someone who had the photographs of their stomach on their wall….

Leave a Reply

The Stirred team at Reclaim the Night Manchester 2015
Recently blogged:
