Day 7! More blues…

This is my third take on blue, my obsessive poet tendancies coming out.

Managed to miss yesterday somehow, between an essay and work somehow mislaid my napowrimo time, so I’ll be catching up today hopefully. Wouldn’t it be great if there was a machine you could put your poem in that would generate the best, most fitting title for it? Titles are so hard. Lets call this poem Waitress Blues for now:

 

 

these days maroon me in the week,

they smell like an old jumper

a round-neck, dull blue

often worn, shoved to the navy-dusk

of the wardrobe’s bottom shelf.

 

Pull apart the wool of it, unwrap the seams

Lay out your week in all its costume splendour

Pick a strand, you can redeem those mindless hours

 

A bruise shadows my waist

A burn my left index finger

A torn nail on my right ring finger

My skin is a coat with an undone hem,

An unstitched sleeve, a missing button

 

I will mend and fade,

the angry specks that threaten

Me with deep blue potential,

the bruise to blossom

An angry plum, time will pluck it.

 

About

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in BeccaAudra, NAPOWRIMO Becca, Poetry Scrawls

Leave a Reply

The Stirred team at Reclaim the Night Manchester 2015
Recently blogged:
