Day twelve napowrimo

So today’s prompt was a homophonic translation whereby you take a foreign poem and translate it by what it sounds/looks like to you, the napowrimo site offered a fantastic international website: http://www.napowrimo.net/ however being obtuse I chose a language I know nothing at all of, not even how to read the letters so I was eternally grateful to this websites sound feature I chose the poet Vera Pavlova because of her fabulous name, it just so happens her poetry is also wonderful in translation, the titles alone are incredible here is the one I ”translated”’: http://www.poetryinternational.org/piw_cms/cms/cms_module/index.php?obj_id=14095 I deliberately covered up the english translation as I was writing so it would bear no resemblance I was aiming for sound not sense I must stress!

 

I eat them, their voices swallowed

not wisely, for they shout up for

reason, reason, it smarts, smarts

and rushes down, the noise,

details they come, of bouyed up lives

not my own, unparalelled

now I shall forever dream others

cut short fears and fantasies.

About

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.

Posted in Anna Percy, NaPoWriMo, NAPOWRIMO Anna, Poetry Scrawls

Leave a Reply

The Stirred team at Reclaim the Night Manchester 2015
Recently blogged:
