Day 14: Masks

A day late, I’m struggling! The essay deadline is a day away, that is my excuse. To distract myself and get inspiration, I thought I’d use a tanka form, a five line structured poem, 5, 7, 5, 7, 7 syllabic count. Like a larger haiku! So I’ve put three tanka formed stanzas together to get a larger poem.

I have also taken refuge in the prompt from day ten, stealing is the way forward. I have stolen today from Plath’s A Birthday Present, the opening line of which is:

What is this, behind this veil, is it ugly, is it beautiful?

 I have tried to respond in keeping with the tone, which isn’t hard to put on at the moment….

Mask 

What is this behind

the mask of my thoughts, is it

a poem, a sentence

or is it the swirling mess

that it looked like yesterday?

 

If there are more masks

On offer, I wouldn’t mind

trying a few out

for this one is stifling

it is uncomfortable

 

If I took it off

I would wince with the air’s cool

bite at my bare face

I prefer to keep it on

although it is murky, thanks.

About

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in BeccaAudra, NaPoWriMo, NAPOWRIMO Becca

Leave a Reply

The Stirred team at Reclaim the Night Manchester 2015
Recently blogged:
