TWO POEM DAY! Cento

 Ok well I thought since the prompt was another stolen poem I would give it a bash, a ten line poem using lines from other poems, I used the poetry foundation site and will link to all poems used in order below where I have contracted lines I will use an elipsis in order for the reader to follow where i nicked things from, i would reccomend reading all these poems, I just picked poets I sort of knew  (I clicked through the various related themes of love and desire etc and did know some of these, I mean the Keats and such)and discovered a wealth of cracking lines. If you click on the line it will take you to the full version.

 

When the world is reduced to a single dark wood for our two pairs of dazzled eyes…then I shall find you.

whose drinking patterns and extravagance of personal feeling are a lot like mine,

We will plant eggplants & celery together

Assume the languid posture of pleasure mixed with guile.

One day when I was twenty-nine years old I met you and nothing happened.

And on thy cheeks a fading rose fast withereth too.

the void of an hour seeps out, infects the slit of a cut I haven’t the wit to fix

shall it be male or female? say the cells,  and drop the plum like fire from the flesh.

And you and I … talked of poetry.

Come to me in the silence of the night; come in the speaking silence of a dream;

love is the lover’s coin, a coin of no country,

You around me for once, you beneath me, above me –

Whoever you are holding me now in hand, without one thing all will be useless,

thank Heaven! the crisis, the danger, is past,

Each time my heart is broken it makes me feel more adventurous

About

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.

Posted in Anna Percy, NAPOWRIMO Anna, Poetry Scrawls

Leave a Reply

The Stirred team at Reclaim the Night Manchester 2015
Recently blogged:
