Day 30: Elegy

Hello,

I am sad napowrimo is over for another year, this year’s has been especially good with the community of facebook going on. I thought I’d finish on a short elegy. It’s made up of quotes from The Story of the Wreck of the Titanic: Eye witness accounts from 1912. Ed. by Marshall Everett. I skimmed and quote selected for this piece, but I wanted to make it longer and use more quotes at some latter point.

I never saw myself as fascinated by the Titanic, I remember my Dad going to watch Kate and Leo version at the cinema with my Mum, and telling me the plot line. When I retold it to my younger sister I added loads of excitement to the narrative, because I couldn’t do it emotional justice as in ‘he saved her by letting her float on the door’, it was more like, ‘he saved her from the colliding icebergs!’ Then I saw this shop window when passing on Piccadilly:

 

I went in and brought the book that this piece is stolen from:

Titanic Elegy

 

The sea had never seemed

so calm and glassy

Smooth under the hand of the air,

the perfectly clear sky

Weightless. A black mass ahead….

A sharp, grinding noise as if

Someone had drawn a giant finger

all along the side. I felt a shock.

I thought merely that a large wave

had struck the ship.

About

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in BeccaAudra, NaPoWriMo, NAPOWRIMO Becca, Poetry Scrawls

Leave a Reply

The Stirred team at Reclaim the Night Manchester 2015
Recently blogged:
