First Draft of a Poem

So you’ll see I haven’t posted anything for a while, this doesn’t mean I haven;t been writing. I have been running and attending workshops and such but have been kind of ignoring my notebook, this happens. I write an let it accrue and go through the ”don’t look at it, don’t touch it” approach, because generally I find unless I am working to a deadline, workshop pieces in particular partly because they are stimulated rather than ”inspired” (whatever that means) they generally look better after being left alone for a while. Anyway to that end here is a first draft of some that came out of last months innverse workshop. Yes this post is also a plug, if you fancy a workshop I will be running one on Monday: https://www.facebook.com/events/237192663068681/ This piece came from some timed free writing (which anyone who has attended my workshops will know I am a big fan of) using words and phrases (three of each) generated by the group and not myself, this has a tendency to produce somewhat surreal effects but is a great way of surprising yourself. Anyway here it is, this is a first draft formed from the free writing comments and suggestions welcome.

Neglected in a forest of calm

I trundle with my suitcase

the wheels stop, caked in leaf mulch

and dandelion seconds, things shed

by a plant furthering itself

tempted by the truth I consider

abandoning the unwieldy zippered monstrosity

tying it to a crenulated barked tree

a sign I was here: dirty washing and silk scarves

all unnecessary under leaf mosaic

the tried and tested smell of a forest

a complex scent of growth and decay:

bluebells and mushrooms.

About

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.

Posted in Anna Percy, Events, Poetry Scrawls, Ramblings

Leave a Reply

The Stirred team at Reclaim the Night Manchester 2015
Recently blogged:
