So What Do You Get From a Warm Up?

right so I should have done this post first really but I wasn’t sure whether this was worth sharing but I figure any poems that include armadillos should shared! This is an example of what I produce in my typical warm up which is freewriting for five to ten minutes using a kicker line from another source and five extra words plucked at random. I find aiming to fit in these five words pushes things along when I get stuck. In this case the five words were: sirens, upstairs, carnations, rummaging and armadillos. The line ”When I kiss you in all the folding places of your body” was taken from Jo Shapcott’s Muse, I will in a later edit most likely extract  or contract this line, but this is a first draft and I will leave it in for now. This is much like the last fantasy and fantastical. Again comments and suggestions welcome.

 

When I kiss you in all the folding places of your body to wake you,

there was unrest in all your limbs, all motion

I felt we were at sea though I know you cannot row

I wake you with a stolen kiss from unconscious to conscious body

and your eyes open startled, you ask ”are we upstairs?”

reality is always a shock for you, whether it is ambulance sirens

or my lips when you are still unsure of this house and my identity

you tell me you dreamed of those magicians blooms: carnations

defiantly outmoded in the garden dug up by rummaging armadillos

I laugh and think of the joy of having someone to share these dream echoes

with on waking before the day closes in and brushes away such odd shadows.

 

 

 

 

About

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.

Posted in Anna Percy, Events, Poetry Scrawls, Ramblings
3 comments on “So What Do You Get From a Warm Up?
  1. belljargirl says:

    This is a really interesting warm up technique! I’d never even thought of warming up before writing to be honest.

    I thought this poem was beautiful, wouldn’t have thought it was a warm up if you hadn’t have said! I love it

    • Trio says:

      Oh thank you! Free writing or timed writing as it is sometimes called is the standard warm I use in workshops, I like to think giving people material to work from and a time limit helps make the blank page a bit less scary. I reccommend Natalie Goldberg’s Writing Down the bones for discussion of timed writing and lots of useful exercises :)

Leave a Reply

The Stirred team at Reclaim the Night Manchester 2015
Recently blogged:
