New Ars Poetica?

Simply put an Ars Poetica is a fancy name for a poem about writing, I am never sure if mine come off but here goes. This came out of a workshop I ran on Monday, in the my usual fashion we did timed free writing from a line of poetry, in this cases Yevtushenko’s (who I have been falling in love with lately) one about writing, we wrote from the line ”poetry gives off smoke but it doesn’t die it acts kind of crazy, flutteringly when it chooses us” which I thought was a rather beautiful way of saying poetry is firey and unpredictable and it grabs you by the throat. I also reccomend A Hornet’s Nest by Pascale Petit for an extremely well wrought and blind siding one, I can only aspire to wrong foot my readers in such a wonderful way. Any way in my usual fashion we free wrote for five minutes and I gave the group five extra words to use or discard, here is the draft. Comments and advice welcomed.

 

 

the courage of night makes my ink flow faster

cover of dark pushes dirty saucepan piles

out from the side of my mind

there is the page and me

not what I didn’t say to him in the train station

and how I wished I had bent like a tattered tulip

in the rain and kissed him in the space after

‘’I might not’’

the unmade bed folds itself away scattered books and all

the pen stops resisting my fingers

the spilt ink becomes less bothersome

I forget the ex who loathed those splots

reminded him of his own empty hands

I know that writing is my most constant lover

and my most fervent friend  of unending tolerance

even as I score pages unevenly

About

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

The Stirred team at Reclaim the Night Manchester 2015
Recently blogged:
