My Cheeky Cherry Popped

The lovely Sarah Logan on reading at Stirred and other delights :D

a slice of imagination

1150775_495750227166890_1764759806_n

I am not a poet.

At least, I didn’t think I was. Poetry has never really clicked for me, other than a couple of pieces I kind of liked.

I’ve never really understood the form, the rules etc. Without understanding that, I didn’t know how to break them. Because that is quite often the way I write. Take an idea, a phrasing, and turn it on its head.

But recently Becca Audra, a friend and fantastic poet, invited me to try the open mic at Stirred Poetry, the feminist poetry night she helps to run. I sat down and started to write a poem.

The theme of the night was ‘Warm World’, and I said, jokingly, that I would write a poem about climate change in a vagina. The story strayed away from my idea a little bit, but I was really pleased with what came out at…

View original post 351 more words

About

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “My Cheeky Cherry Popped

Leave a Reply

The Stirred team at Reclaim the Night Manchester 2015
Recently blogged:
