Found: Frida

Stirred flyer

Today’s is the last prompt for Stirred: Frida, the feminist poetry night coming up on Monday 26th May! Lazy Friday prompt. Create your own poem using phrases and words you find within the below extract from Frida’s diary. Cross out what you don’t need, and keep what you do.

Frida was all about remaking herself, survival against the odds, transformation, so take this chance to transform her words into a modern day poem in your own voice. Wear her words like masks to show different purposes, decorate them and extrapolate what you want to say. This is a love letter to the woman in the painting, Bride frightened at seeing life opened, but also strangely to Diego.

Since you wrote to me, on that clear, distant day, I have wanted to explain to you, that I can’t get away from the days, or return in time to that other time. I have not forgotten you-the nights are long and difficult. The water. The ship and the dock and the parting which made you appear so small, to my eyes, framed in that round porthole, and you gazing at me so as to keep me in your heart. Everything is untouched. Later, came the days, new of you. Today, I wish my sun could touch you. I tell you, your eyeball is my eyeball; the puppet characters all arranged in their large glass room, belong to us both. Your is the huipil with magenta ribbons. Mine the ancient squares of your Paris, above all, the magnificent -(Place) des Vosges. so forgotten and firm. Snail shells and the bride-doll, is yours too-I mean, it is you. Her dress is the same one she wouldn’t take off on the day of the wedding to no-one, when we found her half-asleep on the dirty sidewalk of some street. My skirts with their lace flounces and the antique blouse I always wore xxxxxx paint the absent portrait of only one person. But the colour of your skin, of your eyes and your hair change with the winds in Mexico. You too know that all my eyes see, all I touch with myself, from any distance is Diego. The caress of fabrics, the colour of colours, the wires, the nerves, the pencils, the leaves, the dust, the cells, the war and the sun, everything experienced in the minutes of the non-clocks and the non-calendars and the empty non-glances is him. You felt it, that’s why you let that ship take me away from Le Havre where you never said good-bye to me. I will write to you with my eyes, always..

The Bride Frightened at Seeing Life Opened

 

Looking forward to seeing you on Monday with the words and the Frida Kahlo, special guests Suzanne Batty and Jennie Bailey! Here is Suzanne Batty performing at Loose Muse Anthology launch 2014 Manchester:

 

 

About

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in BeccaAudra, Events, Feminist thinking, Poetry Scrawls
One comment on “Found: Frida
  1. […] Been sort of off the writing wagon (doing my usual scribbling around the edges of notebooks saving scraps on my phone stuff) but here is the first proper poem for a while here is Becca’s excellent prompt from Frida Kahlo’s words: https://stirredpoetry.wordpress.com/2014/05/23/found-frida/ […]

Leave a Reply

The Stirred team at Reclaim the Night Manchester 2015
Recently blogged:
