Frida: eddies and waterfalls

All the other entries for the on the spot poetry writing task at Stirred: Frida on 26th May. Such good stuff. See other entries here.

What the water gave me

What the water gave me

 

what the water gave me

skin wrinkled slick licks

laps at hairy toes

holds memory

which sings of crossing

that river, the muddy

borderland

between

 

What the water gave me

3 ships, sails ghosting dark wood

a breeze into which all time fell.

A rubber duck. RRP £3.99.

 

What the water gave me

was a tremendous fear of water-

aqua-phobia, I believe is the term.

 

What the water gave me

the reflection of a

water boat man

traversing across the

water on six stick legs.

 

What the water gave me

squeezed between turtles and cork.

A leak spread over lino,

buckles with stink.

 

What the water gave me

was wetness.

 

What the water gave me

the stillness of an unpunctured

umbilical cord

a blood foetus on the stream.

 

What the water gave me

Aqua

Water

Planet Earth is blue.

 

 

Two thirds full and my nose is an

island, a life support.

 

I surrender blindly to the world

Beyond the norm, until with a

splutter, I am reborn.

 

Blind and checking.

(Steven H).

About

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in BeccaAudra, Events, Feminist thinking, Guest Poet

Leave a Reply

The Stirred team at Reclaim the Night Manchester 2015
Recently blogged:
