Stirred: ‘Whatever I see, I swallow immediately’

Stirred poetry task on the night of Sylvia&Anne was Sylvia Plath focused (sorry Anne!). This was mainly coincidental as Sarah L Dixon kindly donated a cut up poem, Mirror, which people took one line from and then wrote a response to.

conkers

Prize winners of Mirror Task!

‘Whatever I see, I swallow immediately’

I am a thirsting mouth

Eager for your flattery,

For lies which slip down

Like tainted wine.

Angela Smith

 

‘I think it is part of my heart, but it flickers’

I can feel the beat

Like hurried guitar pickers,

But which vital spare

Crucial part

I need to know, like a

Desperate, love-lorn licker

Please be part of my heart,

And go fast to flame from flicker

Rob Dunford

‘In me she had drowned a young girl, and in me an old woman’

In me is the young girl and the old woman

And they are the same and eternal

Like the tides, moon raked and pale

Always to succeed and fail

Always to wonder and wail

Always to be that which is me.

Conker Winner 

 

Sarah L Dixon's entry!

Sarah L Dixon’s entry!

‘I think it is a part of my heart,

but it flickers’

Arythmic and starting it comes on

And sickens

A rot and a curse. In chambers hidden

It thickens.

Tentatively started. Jealously guarded.

Ceases to quicken.

 Zachery Garsia- Conker winner and review of Sylvia Plath’s grave

 

‘In me she had drowned a young girl, and in me an old woman’

 Her ashes have drowned a young girl,

And in me an old woman,

As yet unborn,

As yet unheard,

Rises from her eyes like Poseidon

And consumes me

And uses me

Abuses me

Obliterates my innocence

In the nicotine twists

Of what could have been

In the spaces between

My reflection in her eyes

Now bouncing beauty of deities

And building my own home

In which to tessellate memories.

 Spoon Winner-Sophie

Thanks so much to all who took part!

About

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Anna Percy, BeccaAudra, Events, Guest Poet
One comment on “Stirred: ‘Whatever I see, I swallow immediately’
  1. […] You can also find all of the poetry written on the night here. […]

Leave a Reply

The Stirred team at Reclaim the Night Manchester 2015
Recently blogged:
