Workshop: Kate Bush

KBush
Just One Kiss

You don’t need a mouth or lips or teeth
to shape the phrase I want to make.
You don’t need words—just one kiss
to break the spell.  Mmh, yes.

If my hands could make the words
weaving letters from empty air
like my fingers twisting string.
Mmh, yes.  And if with this small hook

I could reach down my dark throat
and with a turn of my wrist lift
those words out.  And my mouth, lips,
giving just one more goodnight kiss.

Mmh, yes.

Poem by Rebecca Hurst, written at Stirred’s Kate Bush Workshop

Workshop Activities:

  1. Warm up word hoard: write down words on a piece of paper which relate to Kate Bush.
  2. Free writing after a lyric:
    Take your shoes off/ And throw them in the lake!’’ from Hounds of Love
  3. Read the sensual world consider how she evokes sex in a surreal manner inspired by Molly Bloom’s soliloquy in James Joyce’s Ulysses
  4. Write about a specific Kate Bush song or video that is important to you? What is your connection to her as an artist? Does she evoke certain memories? If you don’t know her or connect to her work write about your impression of her.
  5. Look at Breathing and the pattern of repetition, how a bodily process can evoke emotion consider using breathing or another bodily or sensory process as a repetition.

“Breathing”

Outside
Gets inside
Through her skin.
I’ve been out before
But this time it’s much safer in.

Last night in the sky,
Such a bright light.
My radar send me danger
But my instincts tell me to keep

Breathing,
(“Out, in, out, in, out, in…”)…Kate Bush

Click through below image to facebook event next Monday!

KB2

 

 

About

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Events, Stirred Performance Night, Stirred Poetry Workshops

Leave a Reply

The Stirred team at Reclaim the Night Manchester 2015
Recently blogged:
